If I change my secret key, can I still restore old data?
- 07-31-2012 11:08 AM
When you change the secret key, the previous secret key (and all keys before it if any) are encrypted together using the latest secret key. This way, you need only remember the latest key and do not have to be troubled with remembering, potentially, many keys from past changes. See this flowchart for more on the logic behind the secret key.